Kwesé TV recently launched a mobile television service, Kwesé TV Everywhere (TVE) in Zimbabwe, that allows Kwesé customers to tether their decoder channels to their phones. A Kwesé decoder account comes with up to five TVE accounts. Kwesé customers in Zimbabwe will soon be able to do “TV roaming” in other countries where Kwesé is available.

The service, which is set to give Kwesé customers even more choice, will allow customers to use their mobile phones to watch the same channels simultaneously watched at home.

Kwesé customers can access the service by downloading the Kwesé App (from the Apple App Store or from Google Play) onto their smartphones or tablets, and enter their account details that are only available to customers with a Kwesé decoder.

How do you access Kwesé TVE?

All you need to do is download the Kwesé TV app to your gadget and register for the service. You can find the instructions on how to do that below.

  1. Open Google Play Store/ iTunes
  2. Search for Kwesé TV App, select it and install
  3. Open the installed App
  4. Find the menu by swiping from the left to the right
  5. Select Register
  6. Select your country
  7. Enter your account number (you receive(d) it when you purchase(d) your decoder
  8. Enter your mobile number
  9. When prompted to enter an OTP, enter the OTP you will receive via SMS
  10. Enter your personal information and login

Mobile TV requires fairly considerable amounts of data and Econet is mindful that some customers will prefer to enjoy their mobile TV on a Wi-Fi network, rather than on the 3G or LTE networks. Therefore, Econet has since rolled out more than 575 fixed Wi-Fi hotspots and 240 mobile sites throughout the country to enable their customers to roam. The hotspots rollout has been in partnership with sister firm, ZOL.

The launch of Kwesé TV in Zimbabwe has already contributed to direct job creation, with more than 2 500 jobs directly created, along with many more downstream opportunities created through the launch of the service.

Kwese TV now operates in 15 African countries: namely Zimbabwe, South Africa, Lesotho, Zambia, Swaziland, Malawi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Rwanda, Uganda, Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Kenya, and Botswana.